Wow, That Sounds Hard

Standard

Have you heard of medium.com? It is a site that aggregates collects various stories from people that are written in long form. Instead of the usual “13 Things to Amaze You” type lists so popular on the internet, these are longish (ok, medium) length stories with a beginning, middle and end. I’ve read some great stories on it and it is becoming one of my favourite sites to visit when I want to read something better than what a certain celebrity had for breakfast or a funny picture of a cat. (But, man, are those cat pictures ever funny)

As an example, try this story about the importance of being polite. It is witty, interesting and even has a few useful pointers that you could apply to your own life. A sample quote from the story:

Here’s a polite person’s trick, one that has never failed me. I will share it with you because I like and respect you, and it is clear to me that you’ll know how to apply it wisely: When you are at a party and are thrust into conversation with someone, see how long you can hold off before talking about what they do for a living. And when that painful lull arrives, be the master of it. I have come to revel in that agonizing first pause, because I know that I can push a conversation through. Just ask the other person what they do, and right after they tell you, say: “Wow. That sounds hard.” Because nearly everyone in the world believes their job to be difficult.

That is just one of many tips in the story. Go check it out and many others on Medium.com.

(Bonus, that is actually two tips, but you are a smart person so you already know that…)

