The Day Was Long, Everlong

Standard

David Letterman’s last show was last week and the Foo Fighters closed out the show with a rendition of their big hit song Everlong. It’s a great song and I remembered that they did a nice acoustic version a long time ago on the Howard Stern show. While I was googling, I stumbled across this version from a show they did at Wembley in 2008.

This version is a master class in rock as they take a big song and rework it with incredible use of dynamics.

This is a great song and is in my top ten list of all time greatest rock songs. It is one of those songs I can hear over and over and it never gets old. It is also one of those songs that I turn up and for a few minutes everything else melts away. Magic.

I wanted to play this song so I checked out Marty Schwartz and he has a lesson for this song and he mentions the Wembley show in his video as well. For those of you not familiar with Marty, some of his lessons are simplified or “close enough” versions. This is why I love them, they make you sound like you can play even if you are just the hobbyist intermediate guitar player like myself. He also has a lot of beginner lessons as well. Check ’em out and subscribe to his site if you are serious about learning guitar.

